RESOLUTION NO. 1858

BILL NO. 33-0083

THIRTY-THIRD LEGISLATURE OF THE VIRGIN ISLANDS

Regular Session

2019

A Resolution recognizing the 50th anniversary of the Virgin Islands Port Authority

---0---

WHEREAS, on December 24, 1968, the Honorable Ralph M. Paiewonsky, Governor of the Virgin Islands, signed Bill No. 3863 into law, which became Act No. 2375, creating the Virgin Islands Port Authority;

WHEREAS, the Seventh Legislature of the Virgin Islands, comprised of Senators Earl B. Ottley (President), Randall N. James (Vice-President), David Puritz (Legislative Secretary), Kenneth D. Alexander, Horace Callwood, Augustin Doward, Alexander A. Farrelly, Santiago Garcia, David M. Hamilton, Frank E. Jacobs, Sr., Frits E. Lawaetz, Theovald E. Moorehead, Aureo Diaz Morales, John L. Maduro and Percival H. Reese, approved Bill No. 3863 on the Fifteenth Special Session called by the Honorable Governor Ralph M. Paiewonsky;

WHEREAS, the Eighth Legislature of the Virgin Islands passed legislation, which the Governor signed into law, becoming Act No. 2405, to change the date for the Virgin Islands Port Authority to start operation;

WHEREAS, Act No. 2375 provided for a Board to govern the affairs of the Virgin Islands Port Authority, including the selection of an Executive Director;

WHEREAS, Alton A. Adams, Jr. became the first Executive Director of the Virgin Islands Port Authority and he was succeeded by Jack M. Monsanto, John Harding, Gordon A. Finch, Darlan A. Brin, Kenneth Hobson, Don C. Mills, Carlton "Ital" Dowe, and David W. Mapp, Sr.;

WHEREAS, the Virgin Islands Port Authority owns and operates the Austin "Babe" Monsanto Marine Terminal and the Crown Bay Center, the Crown Bay Cargo Port, the Charlotte Amalie Waterfront, the Edward Wilmoth Blyden, IV Marine Terminal, the Charles F. Blair Seaplane Terminal in Charlotte Amalie, the Urman Victor Fredericks Marine Terminal at Red Hook on the island of St. Thomas, the Loredon Lorence Boynes, Sr. Dock in Cruz Bay, the Victor William Sewer Marine Facility in Cruz Bay (locally referred to as "The Creek"), the Theovald Eric Moorehead Dock and Terminal at Enighed Pond on the island of St. John, the Gallows Bay Dock in Christiansted, the Svend Aage Ovesen, Jr. Seaplane Terminal in Christiansted, the Ann E. Abramson Marine Terminal in Frederiksted, the Wilfred "Bomba"

Allick Port and Transshipment Center at Krause Lagoon (also known as "The Containerport"), and the Gordon A. Finch Molasses Pier at Krause Lagoon;

WHEREAS, the Virgin Islands Port Authority, an economic lifeline of the Virgin Islands, operates two airports, one on the island of St. Thomas named the Cyril E. King Airport, and the other on the island of St. Croix named the Henry E. Rohlsen Airport;

WHEREAS, before the Virgin Islands Port Authority was created, the ports were managed by the United States Department of the Navy until 1931, and were turned over to the United States Department of Interior, which managed the ports until 1969;

WHEREAS, people, building supplies, furniture, vehicles, machinery, clothing, medicines, food, mail, medical equipment, and just about everything needed for everyday living, enter the Virgin Islands through ports owned or controlled by the Virgin Islands Port Authority;

WHEREAS, the tourism industry, which is facilitated by the Virgin Islands Port Authority, accounts for eighty percent (80%) of the Territory's gross domestic product; and

WHEREAS, the Virgin Islands Port Authority celebrated its establishment on February 11, 2019, marking fifty years of existence, and it is only fitting that this date be remembered and honored as the Virgin Islands Port Authority is the backbone and lifeline of the Virgin Islands economy; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Legislature of the Virgin Islands:

SECTION 1. The Legislature of the Virgin Islands, on behalf of the people of the Virgin Islands, honors, recognizes and commends the Virgin Islands Port Authority for its many years of service and contributions to the people of Virgin Islands.

SECTION 2. The President of the Legislature or the President's designee shall present to the Virgin Islands Port Authority a perma plaque copy of this Resolution at an appropriate ceremony.

Thus passed by the Legislature of the Virgin Islands on June 25, 2019.

Witness our Hands and Seal of the Legislature of the Virgin Islands this **5**th day of July, A.D., 2019.

Novelle E. Francis, Gr

President

Alicia V. Barnes Legislative Secretary